Posted in Method of Planning, Patchworker, Planning, Writing

Planner, Pantser…Patchworker?

I’ve been writing for a very long time, and I have numerous files and printouts of old stories I started hammering out; many of which were left abandoned. Over the years I’ve gone back to them, and some even generated ideas on how they might be revived.

Throughout all of this, for the most part, I wrote chronologically; start with the first chapter, move onto the second, get to the third and so on and so forth. It wasn’t until I started taking my writing seriously some twenty or twenty five years ago, that I found this method of writing wasn’t working for me.

I’d get all the ideas down, then hit a wall when the ideas stopped.

You’ve probably heard of writers being referred to as Planners or Pantsers, well there’s also a third type – the Patchworker.

Planners generally outline their story down to the tiniest detail, then sit and write from chapter one, through to chapter whatever, everything accounted for, everything as they’d planned.

Like a calendar, Planners are able to write in chronological order

In all honesty, I do envy this trait, but it’s one I’ve tried and I just cannot do it.

Pantsers just want to get on with the writing, so they’ll sit and start. No plan, everything is written in a kind of organic flow where they start with chapter one, move to chapter two, think of something that needs to be added to chapter one, so make a note, reach chapter sixteen, remember a detail from chapter five, make notes again to add something to chapter twenty seven, and so on. Again, usually in chronological order. Not always, but that’s the vibe I get in my experience.

Let me introduce you to the Patchworker. A Patchworker has the general gist of the story, might know the ending, usually doesn’t, but what they do have is a series of played out scenes in their head that will contribute to the story in one way or another.

Like the Pantser, a Patchworker just wants to write, and may even start with chapter one, but that’s usually as far as being chronological goes. They are itching to get those scenes down, so they get stuck into writing them, regardless of where they might fit in the actual story. Their characters usually come to them fully formed, often with a name already attached, or they’ll introduce themselves while the scene is being written, and they’ll get added into the action.

This is how I write. I am a Patchworker.

Like sticky notes on a wall, or pieces of fabric, a Patchworker brings scenes together to form the story.

I will write several scenes completely out of order, I’ll have no idea where they belong, but I know they will be included.

Fast forward to the part where I’m editing, and these pieces all get stitched together, I’ll edit them so they make sense – this is obviously done in chronological order, but what I end up with is a finished product fit for publication.

I don’t know how Planners are able to work everything out and not answer that call to just get writing. I also don’t know how Pantsers are able to sit and write from start to finish knowing where the story is going, all I know is I have stories in my head, images of scenes and characters that appear to meld together, but until I get them down I can’t see the sequence.

Are you a Planner, Pantser, or maybe even a Patchworker? Let me know if the comments below:

Author:

I'm a writer, mother, wife and blogger! I'll be posting about my writing journey, how I'm a 'Patchworker', and will share all the bits and tips I've learned over the years which I hope help other writers too!

Leave a comment